Feeding and awareness levels

  • 2014

Michio Kushi describes in his book The Health for Macrobiotics an interesting parallel between different levels of food and the way in which these lead us to a certain spiritual consciousness. Depending on our personal development, we may vibrate on one level of consciousness or another, and at the same time, our way of feeding also leads us to a level of consciousness that is less or more evolved. Write Agn s P rez.

Thus, our judgment and consciousness will be limited by eating mechanically, sensory, purely emotional, intellectual, social or ideological, while eating according to a free consciousness, being able to choose correctly what our body, mind and spirit need, will lead us to a state of peace and internal harmony and with our surroundings.

Seven levels in eating

Level 1: Mechanical feeding. People who act with this type of vibration do not consider anything. They work automatically, just to be satiated, eating whatever is available around you so that your body can carry out the processes of digestion, absorption and elimination.

Level 2: Sensory feeding. Eat to stimulate the senses and according to your desires, giving a special priority to the taste, textures, color, smell and volume, looking for foods that seek a sensual pleasure or are aesthetically attractive. Getting pleasure and satisfying your desires for anything without taking into account the personal, social or environmental repercussions that this entails is the way of life of people who adopt this type of food.

Level 3: Emotional feeding. Eat according to emotional satisfaction. These people prefer an atmosphere and arrangement of dishes that appeal to their sentimental comfort, and feed based on sentimental ties towards a certain type of food or diet. For example, towards some dish that reminds them of their grandmother's kitchen, or on their wedding day or on an exotic trip, often using music, candles and certain forms of dishes for aesthetic reasons.

At the same time, observing what emotions accompany the consumption of certain foods knowing what energy connotations it has will help us overcome addictions no longer from the suppression of the addictive substance or food but from the understanding of compulsions and mental and emotional healing.

Level 4: Intellectual feeding. Respond to intellectual justifications. It attends to reasons about what is proven or not by science and requires proven causes and effects. It is based on theories about nutrition that include the concepts of calories, vitamins, enzymes, proteins, carbohydrates, fats, minerals, blood group and others. This is the theoretical way of eating of modern society, which consumes properties before food itself, values ​​only the nutritional aspect, neglects the energy characteristics and the quality of food, recommending endless supplements that can be found perfectly in integral products such as bran, germ, certain vitamins and minerals, etc.

Level 5: Social feeding. Disseminates deceptive advertising campaigns concealed by socially well-regarded actions such as aid to disadvantaged countries or minimal contributions to the environment, promoting the consumption of certain foods only for the profit of certain multinationals even at the cost of manipulating the good hearts of many people and of act in a way that is not sustainable in its production processes. Some examples are the last advertising campaign of the Danone company “Together we sow life”, shrimp farming or perch fishing that are a luxury item in rich countries, but some of the people who raise or fish them barely have the sufficient sustenance to survive and also affects the ecosystem of the places where the hatcheries are established. The mass media have a high power over what people choose to consume, and large companies take advantage of it without any scruples, being good clients for these media that always sell us manipulated realities and hide the research of Who feeds them.

Level 6: Ideological food. Eat according to ideological beliefs. Correspond to this level, all forms of eating based on religious and spiritual traditions: Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Shintoism, Islam, and many other traditional teachings include dietary disciplines in their reference texts, which may be appropriate in many ways. The problem is to adopt them blindly, by submission to an ideology or philosophy, without considering what our body, mind and soul need.

Level 7: Free food. Eat according to a free conscience. It is the natural and universal way of eating according to a clear and intuitive discernment. This way of eating is not opposed to any type of food, but automatically selects and prepares the one that best suits our needs and those of our environment.

The characteristics of a free diet are:

  1. natural
  2. Organic or organic
  3. Integral
  4. Local or regional
  5. Seasonal
  6. Artisanal
  7. Centered or energy balanced

This is the way to eat to realize our dreams.

Georges Oshawa said: “Unless we take responsibility for our daily food, we will eventually be unable to direct or influence the other aspects of our Being. And if we do not, instead of being formed by a consistent and natural growth pattern, our physical and mental well-being will suffer extreme pressures that typify the modern lifestyle. In such a situation, it should not be surprising that mood, thoughts and physical health fluctuate in a random and uncontrollable manner. The ordinary individual, the one who does not want to change, remains subject to his karma, to the law of cause and effect, but he who makes the necessary efforts, can entirely get rid of what overwhelms him or keeps him prisoner. ”

By Agnès Pérez, director of the Ca L'Agnès Macrobiotic School (Cubelles-Barcelona). IYENGAR® certified Yoga teacher.

Feeding and awareness levels

Next Article